top of page
  • dthorses

AQHA Presents PRCA Horse of the Year Awards

The 2019 PRCA Horses of the Year, presented by AQHA, receive $5,000 and an AQHA bronze trophy.

Little Smart Leo, or "Big Time," is the 2019 AQHA-PRCA Tie-Down Roping Horse of the Year. Big Time is owned and ridden by Tyler Milligan. (Credit: Dan Hubbell)

The Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association Horse of the Year Award, presented by the American Quarter Horse Association, recognizes the outstanding registered American Quarter Horse in each of the PRCA's timed-event categories. The top horses are awarded at the annual PRCA Awards Banquet in Las Vegas on December 4 at the South Point Hotel & Casino before the start of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

The owner of the PRCA/AQHA/Women’s Professional Rodeo Association Horses of the Year in each category will be awarded $5,000 and an AQHA bronze trophy. Second place will receive $3,000 and third place will receive $2,000.

The following are the top 3 in each event:


1. Jewels Smoke Screen “Smoke;” ridden by Tate Kirchenschlager; owned by Brad Lands

2. Cee How Nifty “Johnson;” owned and ridden by Clay Tryan

3. RK Tuff Trinket “Bob;” owned and ridden by Riley Minor


1. DT Sugar Chex Whiz “Sugar;” ridden by Billie Jack Saebens; owned by Dixon Flowers QH

2. Leos Highbrow “Sug;” owned and ridden by Brady Minor

3. Smart Little Cab “Casino;” owned and ridden by Paul Eaves

Tie-down Roping:

1. Little Smart Leo "Big Time;" owned and ridden by Tyler Milligan

2. Barshoe Brute “Rock;” ridden by Lane Livingston; owned by JR Livingston

3. Pocketful of Light “Pockets;” owned and ridden by Caleb Smidt

Steer Roping:

1. Mr Blakburn Chex 113 “Dunny;” owned by Rocky Patterson and ridden by Cole Patterson

2. CoopersLittleToy “Cooper;” owned and ridden by Chris Glover

3. At War Leo “Punchy;” owned and ridden by Cody Lee

Steer Wrestling:

1. Do Get Famous “Rattle;” ridden by Matt Reeves; owned by Matt & Savanah Reeves

2. Canted Plan “Scooter;” owned and ridden by Tyler Pearson & Kyle Irwin

3. Patrionic Dash “Mable;” ridden by Stetson Jorgensen; owned by Garret Henry

Barrel Racing:

1. High Valor "Valor;" owned and ridden by Dona Kay Rule

2. KN Fabs Gift Of Fame "J Lo;" ridden by Ivy Saebens; owned by Kenny Nichols and James Barron

3. (Tie) Freckles Ta Fame "Can Man;" ridden by Shali Lord; owned by Joe and Carla Spitz3. (Tie) An Oakie With Cash "Louie;" ridden by Lisa Lockhart; owned by Lisa and Grady Lockhart

The AQHA-PRCA horses of the year will be featured in the December America’s Horse.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHAnews on Twitter and visit

275 views0 comments
bottom of page